Search

What Is The Hindu Diet guide I A Comprehensive Guide

#health #hindu diet #what is hindu


What is Hindu diet is practiced by adherents of Hinduism, the third largest religion in the world (1). It’s a primarily lacto-vegetarian diet, which means that it includes dairy products but excludes meat.


Still, some people who practice Hinduism choose to eat certain meats or other animal products. You may be curious about its history, how it compares with vegetarianism, and whether it offers health benefits.


What is the Hindu diet? The Hindu diet is the eating pattern usually followed by adherents of Hinduism, most of whom live in India. Yet, as an estimated 1.1 billion people practice this religion, there are many variations of the diet (1). In general, Hindus follow a lacto-vegetarian diet, which excludes meat, fish, shellfish, and eggs but includes dairy.


Why people follow it Hindu religious texts advocate for ahimsa, a practice of nonviolence toward all living creatures. This tenet justifies a lacto-vegetarian diet, as the killing of animals for food can be considered violence in Hindu cultures (2).



Additionally, Hinduism considers cows sacred, as they’re representative of maternal gentleness. As such, even among Hindus who eat meat, beef and byproducts like beef lard are taboo How it compares with vegetarian diets There are no universal, mandatory dietary restrictions for practicing Hindus — with the exception of abstinence from beef. india today hindu academy pakistan jay lakhani

4 views

©2020 by naturist-health